Second Skin Audio

C2 Audio Team 1K 12 - aero port enclosure

TzA

I have 2x C2 Audio Team 1K 12's on order.

Am in the process of designing a box, but have a few questions as I have only built a few boxes in my time (and probably just got lucky that they got loud and sounded decent too..)

I want to use a single aero port rather than a slot port. I am new to aero ports and in my Google research i found that a single port is more efficient than multiple ports. Therefore, I would like to go with an 8" aero port. According to http://www.psp-inc.com/tools.html, the length required for a 35 Hz tune is 22.79".

Going in a 2013 Kia Soul, I was thinking of SUBS facing UP and PORT to the SIDE.

I am thinking: 4.0 FT^3 @ 35 Hz w/ two steel rods and double baffle (for bracing) and a single 8" x 22.79" aero-port

Mainly I am trying to figure out if the aero port will be the correct length for a 4.0 cu. ft. (net) enclosure, or maybe a 6" would be better, i don't know.

Does anyone have any input on this design?

Any modification/enhancement suggestions are also appreciated!

I can attached a SketchUp if anyone wants to take a look-see - just let me know. (I do not have them stored on this computer, but can upload them later).

F O.

PSP does not make a 8" precision port you would need to find someone who does or make your own.

2010 Mazda 3s 2.5L

Pioneer DEH-X9600BHS

Knu OFC 1/0 

SS Platinum AGM / XS Power XP750

Alpine PDX F-4 / Morel Maximo 5 + Coax 5

IA 10.1 / SSA XCON 12 

PSP does not make a 8" precision port you would need to find someone who does or make your own.

Right, I wouldn't be buying from them. Found a guy on another forum that makes 8"ers. OR I will make my own. Point being, i only used that site for the calculator tool.

F O.

aero port rule of thumb is 9-12 sq in of port per foot

2010 Mazda 3s 2.5L

Pioneer DEH-X9600BHS

Knu OFC 1/0 

SS Platinum AGM / XS Power XP750

Alpine PDX F-4 / Morel Maximo 5 + Coax 5

IA 10.1 / SSA XCON 12